Cooperation of new quality:

      HMGU and FZJ want to establish a new quality of cooperation in the future topics of bioeconomics and plants for and in human health by combining the competencies of their institutes in HPPS. For this purpose, the corresponding research groups and infrastructures will be brought together under a common governance in order to achieve an even closer coordination in

      • scientific programmes, developments and their implementation within the Helmholtz Programme, and in
      • projects financed by third parties (from public authorities and industry), and in the
      • joint operation of infrastructures and in
      • the development and implementation of strategic perspectives in the national and international context

      By bringing the competencies together under a common governance, one of the largest plant research centres in Germany is to be created, which will be unique nationally and internationally in terms of scientific quality and orientation as well as technological-infrastructural orientation.


      One member each of the HMGU and FZJ board of directors is appointed by the HMGU management and the FZJ management as HMGU and FZJ spokesperson of HP-PS.

      Spokesman (currently):

      Prof. Dr. Jörg Durner  (Head of the Institute of Biochemical Plant Pathology) and Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schurr (Managing Director of IBG-2)

      Scientific Advisory BoardAt the suggestion of the Board of Directors, the management boards of the two centres jointly appoint an international scientific advisory board consisting of 6-8 external scientists with proven expertise in all relevant scientific, social and societal fields. This advisory board is not only an advisory body but also regularly evaluates the joint projects and makes recommendations for action with regard to the jointly developed strategic orientation.

      The advisory board will be constituted at a later date.


      Coordination und Administration

      Dr. Uta von Rad (HMGU)  Dr. Uta von Rad (HMGU, München)

      Dr. Adolf Kesseler  Dr. Adolf Kesseler (Forschungszentrum Jülich)

      Board of Directors

      From a scientific point of view, the Board of Directors is headed by a joint Board of Directors with equal representation.

      Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schurr  Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schurr (Speaker, Forschungszentrum Jülich)

      Prof. Dr. Jörg Durner (HMGU)  Prof. Dr. Jörg Durner (Speaker, HMGU München)

      Prof. Dr. Björn Usadel   Prof. Dr. Björn Usadel (Forschungszentrum Jülich)

      Prof. Dr. Michelle Watt  Prof. Dr. Michelle Watt (Forschungszentrum Jülich)

      Prof. Dr. Klaus F.X. Mayer, HMGU Prof. Dr. Klaus F.X. Mayer (HMGU München)

      Prof. Dr. Pascal Falter-Braun Prof. Dr. Pascal Falter-Braun (HMGU München)

      Prof. Dr. Jörg-Peter Schnitzler   Prof. Dr. Jörg-Peter Schnitzler (HMGU München).